Wednesday, January 31, 2018

SCECSAL introduces Excellence Award

Nomination period for 2018 awards closes on 28 February

The Standing Conference of Eastern, Central and Southern Africa Library and Information Associations (SCECSAL) has introduce the SCECSAL Excellence Award to honour and recognize individuals that have made outstanding contributions to the organization.

The first awards will be made at the XXIII SCECSAL Conference to be held in Entebbe, Uganda, from 23 to 27 April 2018, forty-four years from the first SCECSAL conference in 1974.

Individuals, regardless of country of residence, who have made outstanding contribution to the development and growth of SCECSAL, are eligible for nomination for the award.

SCECSAL was established following the dissolution of the East African Library Association (EALA) in 1972. However, EALA’s biennial conference was retained and renamed to the Standing Conference of Eastern, and Central African Librarians (SCECAL) and the first conference under the new name was held in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, in 1974.

Since 1974, several individuals have played a key role in the development and sustainability of the operations of SCECAL, and now SCECSAL renamed after library and information associations from Southern Africa started participating in the conference.

SCECSAL Secretariat, based in Swaziland, has asked member Associations to send their nominations for the award by 28 February 2018.

No comments:

Post a Comment