Wednesday, December 6, 2017

NIWA elects Elizabeth Matheus as chairperson

The Namibian Information Workers Association (NIWA), at its Annual General Meeting held at the
 Ms Elizabeth Matheus, NIWA Chairperson
Goethe Institute in Windhoek on 30 November, elected Ms Elizabeth Matheus as its new Chairperson for a two-year term.

In her acceptance speech, Ms. Matheus called all NIWA members to continue supporting the Association, indicating that “it is a role for all and not only looking up to the Executive Members to make sure that NIWA’s 5 years strategic plan is achieved”.

She also urged NIWA members and members institutions to attend the SCECSAL conference in Uganda in 2018 and to make sure "we have an inclusive and successful SCECSAL conference in 2020", Ms Matheus said.

Ms Matheus, an Assistant Librarian at the International University of Management (IUM), will lead the NIWA Executive Committee composed of the following officials:
  • Chairperson: Ms Elizabeth Matheus 
  • Deputy chairperson: Mrs Hertha Iipinge
  • Secretary: Mr Frans Amakali
  • Assistant secretary: Ms Anna Leonard 
  • Treasurer: Mrs Maria Ashilungu
  • Editor: Mr Detlef Pfeifer 
  • Additional member: Mr Ronald Kanguti
Ms Matheus previously served on NIWA Executive Committee as Secretary for 2016 and 2017.

NIWA will host the SCECSAL conference, for the second time, in 2020 and the new Executive Committee is expected to put in place arrangements for the conference.

In April 2000, the NIWA Executive Committee, led by Ms. Ellen Namhila (now Dr. Namhila) hosted the XIV SCECSAL Conference on the theme - Information 2000: a Vision for the SCECSAL region.

No comments:

Post a Comment